Gabrelcik Makes Preseason Watch List for Haskins Award

Gabrelcik Makes Preseason Watch List for Haskins Award

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. ( – Entering his junior season with North Florida men's golf, Nick Gabrelcik has been selected to the Haskins Award Preseason Watch List on Thursday morning. He joins 24 other Division I golfers on the list for the prestigious honor that will be awarded at the end of the 2022-23 season.

This is the second consecutive year that Gabrelcik has been tabbed to the preseason watch list for the Haskins Award. The reigning ASUN champion is one of eight golfers on this season's list to make back-to-back appearances.

"Nick [Gabrelcik] is a great player and this is a recognition off of two great years," said head coach Scott Schroeder. "I know his goal is to not just be on the list, but to be in the mix at the end to win it."

Gabrelcik will enter this season as the back-to-back Golfer of the Year for the ASUN, as well as the individual medalist crown winner of the ASUN Championship this past season. The PING Third-Team All-American also played a major role in leading the Ospreys last season to its seventh NCAA Championship appearance in program history.

The Trinity, Fla., native also returned as a member of the USA Team for a second straight summer in the Palmer Cup competition, while also recently competing in the U.S. Amateur.

Gabrelcik and the Ospreys are scheduled to open their fall tournament slate, Sept. 9-10, at the Rod Myers Invitational hosted by Duke in Durham, N.C.

Preseason Haskins Award Watch List (listed alphabetically):
Ludvig Aberg, Texas Tech
Sam Bennett, Texas A&M
Fred Biondi, Florida
Michael Brennan, Wake Forest
Ben Carr, Georgia Southern
Ricky Castillo, Florida
Adrien Dumont de Chassart, Illinois
Mateo Fernandez de Oliveira, Arkansas
David Ford, North Carolina
Nick Gabrelcik, North Florida
Austin Greaser, North Carolina
Christo Lamprecht, Georgia Tech
Bryce Lewis, Tennessee
Dylan Menante, North Carolina
William Mouw, Pepperdine
Gordon Sargent, Vanderbilt
Cole Sherwood, Vanderbilt
Brian Stark, Oklahoma State
Preston Summerhays, Arizona State
Caleb Surratt, Tennessee
Michael Thorbjornsen, Stanford
Hugo Townsend, Ole Miss
Travis Vick, Texas
Patrick Welch, Oklahoma
Jiri Zuska, Louisville

About the Fred Haskins Award:
Celebrating its 53rd year, the Fred Haskins Award presented by Stifel has been given to players who have captured 33 major championships and more than 400 professional tournaments around the world. Past recipients include Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Ben Crenshaw, and Justin Thomas. Chris Gotterup (Oklahoma) won the 52nd Haskins Award in 2022. The Fred Haskins Award is the oldest individual college golf award and the only award to be voted on by players, coaches, golf SID's, and select golf media. Golf Channel and Golfweek are media partners for the Fred Haskins Award.

ASUN Conference, Atlanta – the only DI conference headquartered in the ATL, our footprint's primary media, sports, business, transportation and cultural hub
The ASUN, a Division I conference member of the NCAA, boasts a membership of institutions that share visionary leadership, bold ambition and creative innovation. As a nimble adaptive conference, unafraid to blaze a national pathway for better service to our student-athletes, teams, and institutions, the ASUN has a proud history of firsts, national academic and athletic achievements and a conference culture that walks the walk with its four ASUN Beams. Students First! Rise. Connect. Impact. #ASUNBuilt by Austin Peay (Clarksville, Tenn.), Bellarmine (Louisville, Ky.), Central Arkansas (Conway, Ark.), Eastern Kentucky (Richmond, Ky.), FGCU (Fort Myers, Fla.), Jacksonville (Fla.), Jacksonville State (Jacksonville, Ala.), Kennesaw State (Ga.), Liberty (Lynchburg, Va.), Lipscomb (Nashville, Tenn.), North Alabama (Florence, Ala.), North Florida (Jacksonville, Fla.), Queens (Charlotte, N.C.) and Stetson (DeLand, Fla.).