#6 Central Arkansas Edges #3 Lipscomb in Penalty Kicks to Advance

#6 Central Arkansas Edges #3 Lipscomb in Penalty Kicks to Advance

The Basics
#6 Central Arkansas 1, #3 Lipscomb 1 - 5-4 PKs  (UCA Advances)
Records: Lipscomb (11-6-2) | Central Arkansas (7-8-3)
 Pickering Field at the FGCU Soccer Complex (Fort Myers, Fla.) 

FORT MYERS, Fla. – It took eight rounds of penalty kicks before No. 6 Central Arkansas advanced past No. 3 Lipscomb, 1-1 (5-4 PKs), in opening round action of the 2022 ASUN Conference Women's Soccer Championship at the FGCU Soccer Complex.

The Bears struck early when Taylor Lassiter connected from beyond the 18-yard box with her shot tucking in under the crossbar in the sixth minute of the contest. Later in the opening half, ASUN Player of the Year Kelli Beiler tracked down a deflected cross in front of the net and chipped a shot inside the right post to knot the score at 1-1 in the 34th minute.

The squads would play a scoreless second half and a pair of 10-minute overtime sessions to set up the dramatic penalty kick finishes. Both teams made their first attempts and then proceeded to trade makes and misses in the next two tries. After two successful tries for the teams, both squads missed their next two chances. UCA's Nina Mazzola found the back of the net on her shot followed by a save by Bears netminder Keyla Perez to secure the win. 

Key Notes
- The Bisons outshot the Bears 42-5 in the game and put 13 shots on frame in the contest. Kale'a Perry, who assisted on the goal in regulation, led the way with 13 shot attempts
- Perez finished the match with 12 saves during the 110 minutes of competition and then added a trio of stops in penalty kicks for the Bears
- UCA made the most of its offensive chances scoring their lone goal on five shots and only attempted one shot over the second half and two overtime periods

Up Next 
Central Arkansas advances to the ASUN Championship Semifinals on Sunday, Oct. 30, to face the winner of #2 FGCU/#7 North Florida. Lipscomb falls to 11-6-2 as its run in the conference tournament concludes. 

ASUN Conference, Atlanta – the only DI conference headquartered in the ATL, our footprint's primary media, sports, business, transportation and cultural hub
The ASUN, a Division I conference member of the NCAA, boasts a membership of institutions that share visionary leadership, bold ambition and creative innovation. As a nimble adaptive conference, unafraid to blaze a national pathway for better service to our student-athletes, teams, and institutions, the ASUN has a proud history of firsts, national academic and athletic achievements and a conference culture that walks the walk with its four ASUN Beams. Students First! Rise. Connect. Impact. #ASUNBuilt by Austin Peay (Clarksville, Tenn.), Bellarmine (Louisville, Ky.), Central Arkansas (Conway, Ark.), Eastern Kentucky (Richmond, Ky.), FGCU (Fort Myers, Fla.), Jacksonville (Fla.), Jacksonville State (Jacksonville, Ala.), Kennesaw State (Ga.), Liberty (Lynchburg, Va.), Lipscomb (Nashville, Tenn.), North Alabama (Florence, Ala.), North Florida (Jacksonville, Fla.), Queens (Charlotte, N.C.) and Stetson (DeLand, Fla.).