#5 EKU Outlasts #4 Kennesaw State in Narrow 1-0 Final

#5 EKU Outlasts #4 Kennesaw State in Narrow 1-0 Final

The Basics
#5 Eastern Kentucky 1, #4 Kennesaw State 0 (Eastern Kentucky Advances)
Records: Eastern Kentucky (9-6-2) | Kennesaw State (7-9-3) 
 Osborne Stadium (Lynchburg, Va.)

LYNCHBURG, Va. – A low-scoring affair between two evenly matched squads saw #5 Eastern Kentucky upend #4 Kennesaw State, 1-0, in the ASUN Conference Women's Soccer Quarterfinals on Thursday evening at Osborne Stadium in Lynchburg, Va. ASUN Second Team All-Conference selection Maddy Lemery connected on the lone score for either side at 23:16 to push the Colonels to a 9-6-2 overall record and a spot in the semifinals on Sunday afternoon against #1 Liberty at 1 PM ET.

Both teams were able to pile up shot numbers in both halves as the Owls held a narrow advantage in attempts at 16-15 but EKU was able to make the best opportunity of the evening count the most. Lemery's score combined with solid play on the defensive end by EKU helped the team get back to the semifinals for the second consecutive season. KSU had the advantage in corner kicks at 3-0, but just couldn't get over the hump to make the match-tying play. Kendall Higgs had five shots (4 SOG) to pace the offensive attack and four other teammates joined her with two attempts apiece.

Carly Dean got the win by protecting the net for the Colonels as she made seven saves in 90 minutes.

Key Notes
- The two programs combined for 31 shots on the night but only one attempt connected – Maddy Lemery at 23:16
- Lemery was the driving force on the offensive end for EKU as she tallied 10 shots out of 15 overall in the victory
- The Colonels are back in the semifinals for the second consecutive season as they grabbed their second ASUN win as a team

Up Next 
#5 Eastern Kentucky advances to the ASUN Championship Semifinals on Sunday, Oct. 30, to face #1 Liberty at 1 PM ET. Kennesaw State falls to 7-9-3 as its run in the conference tournament concludes. 

ASUN Conference, Atlanta – the only DI conference headquartered in the ATL, our footprint's primary media, sports, business, transportation and cultural hub
The ASUN, a Division I conference member of the NCAA, boasts a membership of institutions that share visionary leadership, bold ambition and creative innovation. As a nimble adaptive conference, unafraid to blaze a national pathway for better service to our student-athletes, teams, and institutions, the ASUN has a proud history of firsts, national academic and athletic achievements and a conference culture that walks the walk with its four ASUN Beams. Students First! Rise. Connect. Impact. #ASUNBuilt by Austin Peay (Clarksville, Tenn.), Bellarmine (Louisville, Ky.), Central Arkansas (Conway, Ark.), Eastern Kentucky (Richmond, Ky.), FGCU (Fort Myers, Fla.), Jacksonville (Fla.), Jacksonville State (Jacksonville, Ala.), Kennesaw State (Ga.), Liberty (Lynchburg, Va.), Lipscomb (Nashville, Tenn.), North Alabama (Florence, Ala.), North Florida (Jacksonville, Fla.), Queens (Charlotte, N.C.) and Stetson (DeLand, Fla.).