#2 FGCU Claims Seventh #ASUNWSOC Championship in PKs Against Liberty, 4-3

#2 FGCU Claims Seventh #ASUNWSOC Championship in PKs Against Liberty, 4-3

The Basics
 #2 FGCU 1, #1 Liberty 1 (FGCU Advances on PKs, 4-3)
Records: FGCU (12-5-2) | Liberty (14-3-4) 
Location: Osborne Stadium (Lynchburg, Va.)

LYNCHBURG, Va. – An FGCU comeback was highlighted by a crucial stop on the final attempt of penalty kicks by ASUN Conference Championship MVP Katie Sullivan as she earned the second-seeded Eagles the 2022 ASUN Championship after a 1-1 final (4-3 PKs) over No. 1 Liberty on Friday night in Virginia. The victory for FGCU gave the Eagles their seventh championship banner and their first since 2017.

Liberty was able to get on the board first on their home field when Chloe Marr found the back of the net in the 37th minute to break the scoreless tie. The Flames entered the locker room with a 1-0 lead. Both teams continued to fire away at the goal but couldn't break through until the final minutes of regulation. FGCU was awarded a corner kick that was first bounced up into the air before coming down right in front of Margaret Berry, who laced in a shot and tied the contest at 1-1 at 84:48.

The bout went to PKs where Leah Scarpelli had the opening opportunity and missed for the Eagles. The Flames would take the lead, 1-0, but headed into the third round tied, 1-1, after McKinley Burkett was unsuccessful. The Eagles would connect on three-straight kicks and Liberty would have the chance to match a 4-4 score with Rebekah Earnest. The final Liberty attempt was sent away by Sullivan.

Key Notes
- FGCU came from behind to claim its seventh championship banner and its first league crown since 2017
- The turning point of the match took place in the 85th minute when Margaret Berry tied the contest at 1-1
- After a 1-1 tie in PKs, the Eagles registered three straight makes before stopping Liberty's final chance
- FGCU's Katie Sullivan was named the 2022 ASUN Championship MVP after registering the diving stop

2022 ASUN Women's Soccer All-Tournament Team
Katie Sullivan, FGCU (MVP)
Taylor Lassiter, Central Arkansas
Keyla Perez, Central Arkansas
Gretta Gunn, Eastern Kentucky
Maddy Lemery, Eastern Kentucky
Louise Lillback, FGCU
Leah Scarpelli, FGCU
Erika Zschuppe, FGCU
Saydie Holland, Liberty
Bridie Herman, Liberty
Chloe Marr, Liberty

Up Next 
#2 FGCU advances to the 2022 NCAA Division I Women's Soccer Championship with the 64-team bracket being announced on Monday, Nov. 7 at 4 PM ET live on NCAA.com. #1 Liberty falls to 14-3-4 as its run in the conference tournament concludes. 

ASUN Conference, Atlanta – the only DI conference headquartered in the ATL, our footprint's primary media, sports, business, transportation and cultural hub
The ASUN, a Division I conference member of the NCAA, boasts a membership of institutions that share visionary leadership, bold ambition and creative innovation. As a nimble adaptive conference, unafraid to blaze a national pathway for better service to our student-athletes, teams, and institutions, the ASUN has a proud history of firsts, national academic and athletic achievements and a conference culture that walks the walk with its four ASUN Beams. Students First! Rise. Connect. Impact. #ASUNBuilt by Austin Peay (Clarksville, Tenn.), Bellarmine (Louisville, Ky.), Central Arkansas (Conway, Ark.), Eastern Kentucky (Richmond, Ky.), FGCU (Fort Myers, Fla.), Jacksonville (Fla.), Jacksonville State (Jacksonville, Ala.), Kennesaw State (Ga.), Liberty (Lynchburg, Va.), Lipscomb (Nashville, Tenn.), North Alabama (Florence, Ala.), North Florida (Jacksonville, Fla.), Queens (Charlotte, N.C.) and Stetson (DeLand, Fla.).