Three #ASUNWTEN Teams Sending Athletes to ITA Women's All-American Championships

Three #ASUNWTEN Teams Sending Athletes to ITA Women's All-American Championships

Tournament Central

ATLANTA - Three ASUN Conference Women's Tennis programs are sending members of their squads to compete at the ITA Women's All-American Championship in Cary, North Carolina. The event begins with the Pre-Qualifying Singles and Doubles Rounds hosted by the Cary Tennis Park, Duke University, North Carolina and North Carolina State on Saturday and Sunday, Oct. 1-2.

The pre-qualifying singles round features the reigning ASUN Freshman of the Year in Liberty's Maria Juliana Parra Romero while Jacksonville State's Serafima Shastova is listed as an alternate.

Pre-Qualifying winners advance through to the Qualifying Round of 64 on Monday and Tuesday (Oct. 3-4) where competitors have a chance to reach the Main Draw played from Wednesday to Sunday (Oct. 5-9). Reigning ASUN Player of the Year and two-time Scholar-Athlete of the Year, North Florida's Kit Gulihur, has earned a slot in the Qualifying Round. 

Jacksonville State's Polina Ramenskaja/Serafima Shastova will also represent the league at the event in the Doubles Pre-Qualifying Round of 32 beginning on Saturday and Sunday. Austin Peay's doubles pair of Denise Torrealba/Melody Hefti earned an invitation to the pre-qualifying round, but will not make the trip. Six other ASUN pairs were named as pre-qualifying alternates in JSU's Romane Mosse/Anna Syrova, KSU's Taylor Dean/Ji Youn Lee and Sophia Unger/Sofia Pinedo, Liberty's Parra Romero/Marina Davtyan and Queen's Jill Morse/Marie Bertran de Balanda and Hanna Axelsson/Katsiaryna Tuliakova.

ASUN Conference, Atlanta - the only DI conference headquartered in the ATL, our footprint's primary media, sports, business, transportation and cultural hub
The ASUN, a Division I conference member of the NCAA, boasts a membership of institutions that share visionary leadership, bold ambition and creative innovation. As a nimble adaptive conference, unafraid to blaze a national pathway for better service to our student-athletes, teams, and institutions, the ASUN has a proud history of firsts, national academic and athletic achievements and a conference culture that walks the walk with its four ASUN Beams. Students First! Rise. Connect. Impact. #ASUNBuilt by Austin Peay (Clarksville, Tenn.), Bellarmine (Louisville, Ky.), Central Arkansas (Conway, Ark.), Eastern Kentucky (Richmond, Ky.), FGCU (Fort Myers, Fla.), Jacksonville (Fla.), Jacksonville State (Jacksonville, Ala.), Kennesaw State (Ga.), Liberty (Lynchburg, Va.), Lipscomb (Nashville, Tenn.), North Alabama (Florence, Ala.), North Florida (Jacksonville, Fla.), Queens (Charlotte, N.C.) and Stetson (DeLand, Fla.).