2022 @ASUNVolleyball Season Preview: Liberty Flames

2022 @ASUNVolleyball Season Preview: Liberty Flames

Liberty Schedule | Liberty 2021 Season Stats

ATLANTA – With the 2022 ASUN Conference Volleyball season approaching, we preview each of the 14 conference squads in preparation for the 38th season of ASUN Volleyball. Liberty was selected to finish fifth in the Preseason Coaches Poll with a total of 134 votes in the ranking.

The Flames grabbed 10 wins a season ago and have reloaded the roster to take the next step as a new year is on the horizon. Trevor Johnson is in his fifth season as head coach of Liberty as the squad got a trio of transfers ahead of the 2022 campaign. Lipscomb transfers Kamryn Bacus and Delaney Dilfer, along with Texas A&M transfer Erica Lowery, are now with the program and set to get on the court. Their experience on the hardwood will be leaned on for success as the roster features seven freshman and five sophomores.

Liberty's first serve takes place on Aug. 26 in the VCU Tournament against Elon, followed by the host Rams, before the club lines up against High Point the next day. The Flames then host their own event Sept. 2-3 against Winthrop, UNCW and Murray State. Two additional pre-conference tournaments are also on the docket before the Flames open league play with back-to-back outings against Queens on Sept. 23 and 25.

Liberty Team Quick Facts
2021 Record:
 10-14 (6-10 ASUN)
Best Single-Season Record All-Time in Division I: 25-8 (2012)
ASUN Championship Titles: None
ASUN Regular Season Titles: None
NCAA Division I Tournament Berths: 7 (1997, 1999, 2001, 2007-08, 2011-12)
ASUN Opener: vs. Queens (Sept. 23)

Roster Breakdown
Juniors: 5
Sophomores: 5
Freshman: 7

Coaching Staff
Head Coach:
 Trevor Johnson (California Baptist, 2005)
Liberty Record: 51-52 (4 years)
Career Record: 137-66 (7 years)
Staff: Brett Anema, Shelby Livingstone

ASUN Conference, Atlanta – the only DI conference headquartered in the ATL, our footprint's primary media, sports, business, transportation and cultural hub
The ASUN, a Division I conference member of the NCAA, boasts a membership of institutions that share visionary leadership, bold ambition and creative innovation. As a nimble adaptive conference, unafraid to blaze a national pathway for better service to our student-athletes, teams, and institutions, the ASUN has a proud history of firsts, national academic and athletic achievements and a conference culture that walks the walk with its four ASUN Beams. Students First! Rise. Connect. Impact. #ASUNBuilt by Austin Peay (Clarksville, Tenn.), Bellarmine (Louisville, Ky.), Central Arkansas (Conway, Ark.), Eastern Kentucky (Richmond, Ky.), FGCU (Fort Myers, Fla.), Jacksonville (Fla.), Jacksonville State (Jacksonville, Ala.), Kennesaw State (Ga.), Liberty (Lynchburg, Va.), Lipscomb (Nashville, Tenn.), North Alabama (Florence, Ala.), North Florida (Jacksonville, Fla.), Queens (Charlotte, N.C.) and Stetson (DeLand, Fla.).