2022 @ASUNVolleyball Postseason Awards Announced

2022 @ASUNVolleyball Postseason Awards Announced

All-Conference Teams/Awards

ATLANTA - FGCU's Lily Felts highlighted the ASUN Conference Volleyball Postseason All-Conference accolades with the program's sixth consecutive Player of the Year honor, as voted on by the league's head coaches. The 2022 Regular Season Champion Liberty claimed two individual honors as Delaney Dilfer was named Setter of the Year while Trevor Johnson captured his first Coach of the Year award. North Florida's Rocio Moro was tabbed as the Defensive Player of the Year for the third season in a row. Kennesaw State's Manu Johnson earned the program's second Freshman of the Year distinction.

Felts secured her first Player of the Year award after helping the Eagles to the second seed in the postseason and their eighth-straight appearance in the ASUN Championship. On the season, she ranked second on the squad with 307 total kills and was one of only two Eagles to record 300 kills. She recorded five double-doubles over the fall campaign to lift FGCU to 23 wins and also ranked second on the team with 31 aces. She broke an ASUN and FGCU three-set match kill record with her career-high of 27 in a win against Stetson on Oct. 19.

Moro took home her third-consecutive Defensive Player of the Year honor to become the first three-time winner in ASUN history. The junior from San Juan, Puerto Rico, led the ASUN in total digs (520) and was second in digs per set (4.91) this season. She pushed her number of Defensive Player of the Week honors to 10 for her career, a league record, and also became the first-ever Osprey to reach the 2,000-dig mark. The junior currently ranks third in conference history with a total of 2,148 career digs.

Dilfer was tabbed the Setter of the Year after helping Liberty to its first-ever regular season crown and the top seed in the ASUN Championship. The senior led the ASUN in assists per set (11.13) and total assists (1,180) while ranking second in the conference in aces per set (0.42). She ranks in the top 10 nationally in total assists (5th) and in the top 20 in assists per set (12th). The Texas native posted 17 40-assists matches and seven 50-assist contests including a career-high 58 assists in a four-set win against Jacksonville.

Johnsen became the first Kennesaw State Volleyball student-athlete to be named Freshman of the Year since Kelly Marcinek earned the distinction in 2013. The first-year player from Copenhagen, Denmark, recorded double-digit kills in seven of the last eight matches of the season. This culminated in a 27-kill performance in the finale against Central Arkansas. She finished the regular season hitting .247 in conference play while adding 18 aces (0.35 aces per set) and 101 digs (1.94 digs per set).

Johnson captured his first Coach of the Year accolade leading his Liberty squad to a 21-7 overall record and the program's first regular-season title. The Flames were 12-2 on their home floor inside Liberty Arena and ended the season on a 10-match winning streak en route to the ASUN Championship's #1 seed. The team earned 13 of its victories this season in straight sets, eight of which came in league play. As a team, Liberty led the conference in total kills (1,476), kills per set (13.92), total assists (1,357), total blocks (277) and blocks per set (2.61).

Player of the Year: Lily Felts, FGCU
Defensive Player of the Year: Rocio Moro, North Florida
Setter of the Year: Delaney Dilfer, Liberty
Freshman of the Year: Manu Johnsen, Kennesaw State
Coach of the Year: Trevor Johnson, Liberty

ASUN All-Conference First Team
OH - *Lily Felts,  FGCU,  Sr.,  Knoxville, Tenn., Local Government Management
S - Chelsey Lockey% FGCU Sr. Eaton, Colo. Local Government Management
OH - Erin Shomaker^ FGCU Jr. Granville, Ohio Health Science
OH - Lena Kindermann# Jacksonville State Sr. Neuenkirchen, Germany English
MB - Lydia Burts# Liberty Jr. Anderson, S.C Social Work
S - Delaney Dilfer# Liberty Jr. Austin, Texas Interdisciplinary Studies
L/DS - Rocio Moro^ North Florida Jr. San Juan, P.R. Educational Leadership
* - Denotes unanimous selection
ASUN All-Conference Second Team
L/DS - Dana Axner$ FGCU Sr. Dublin, Ohio Secondary Mathematics
MB - Haley Hart Jacksonville Sr. Frankfort, Ill Speech Language Pathology
MB - Katie Montgomery# Jacksonville State Sr. Idaho Falls, Idaho Integrated Studies
OH - Manu Johnsen Kennesaw State Fr. Copenhagen, Denmark Undecided
OH - Kamryn Bacus Liberty Jr. Edmond, Okla Interdisciplinary Studies
OH - Caroline Stogner Lipscomb Jr. Plano, Texas, Accounting
OH - Mahalia White, North Florida, Jr., Canoga Park, Calif., Communication Management

ASUN All-Conference Third Team
OH - Lauren Clark, FGCU, Sr., Champlin, Minn., Integrated Studies
S - Claire Ochs, Jacksonville State, Gr., Chesterfield, Mo., MBA
OH - Sophie Riemersma, Jacksonville State, Gr., Holland, Mich., MBA
L/DS - Shelby Dennis, Kennesaw State, Sr., Cincinnati, Ohio, Secondary Mathematics
MB - Claire Parsons, Kennesaw State, Jr., Marietta, Ga., Public Relations
MB - Madison Blane, Liberty, So., Montgomery, Texas, International Relations
RS - Addi Pelham, Lipscomb, So., Lenexa, Kansas, Marketing
ASUN All-Freshman Team
OH - *Manu Johnsen, Kennesaw State, Copenhagen, Denmark, Undecided
OH - Caylan Koons, Central Arkansas, Springdale, Ark.
S - Sophia Hudepohl, Lipscomb, Mason, Ohio, Business
OH - Courtney Jones, Lipscomb, Terre Haute, Ind., Sports Management
OH - Berkley Mischler, Lipscomb, Appleton, Wis., Nursing
S - Savannah Cook, North Florida, Wilmington, N.C., Early Childhood Education
MB - Kierstyn McFall, North Florida, Klein, Texas, Biology
MB - Sophia Groom, Stetson, Orlando, Fla., Discovery
* - Denotes unanimous selection
** - a tie in voting resulted in an eight-person All-Freshman Team 

# - Denotes a two-time selection to the All-Conference Team
^ - Denotes a three-time selection to the All-Conference Team
% - Denotes a four-time selection to the All-Conference Team
$ - Denotes a five-time selection to the All-Conference Team

ASUN Conference, Atlanta – the only DI conference headquartered in the ATL, our footprint's primary media, sports, business, transportation and cultural hub
The ASUN, a Division I conference member of the NCAA, boasts a membership of institutions that share visionary leadership, bold ambition and creative innovation. As a nimble adaptive conference, unafraid to blaze a national pathway for better service to our student-athletes, teams, and institutions, the ASUN has a proud history of firsts, national academic and athletic achievements and a conference culture that walks the walk with its four ASUN Beams. Students First! Rise. Connect. Impact. #ASUNBuilt by Austin Peay (Clarksville, Tenn.), Bellarmine (Louisville, Ky.), Central Arkansas (Conway, Ark.), Eastern Kentucky (Richmond, Ky.), FGCU (Fort Myers, Fla.), Jacksonville (Fla.), Jacksonville State (Jacksonville, Ala.), Kennesaw State (Ga.), Liberty (Lynchburg, Va.), Lipscomb (Nashville, Tenn.), North Alabama (Florence, Ala.), North Florida (Jacksonville, Fla.), Queens (Charlotte, N.C.) and Stetson (DeLand, Fla.).